powered by HONDA

Australian Professional Cyclist

Tough task ahead for Team Faren Honda

Today’s penultimate stage of the 2012 Giro d’Italia was predicted to be one for the pure sprinters but due to the three hilly circuits in the first 60km and many tired legs in the last 50km, the GC riders had another taste of podium success on stage 8.
The pace was very high from the start with attack after attack until one strong rider, Linda Villmusen (Orica) was able to ride off the front.
Villmusen spent 50km’s off the front alone before she was chased down towards the end of the stage. Soon after, with about 20km’s to go, Marianne Vos (Rabo) applied pressure to the pedals through a roundabout on the flat and forced a new break of three riders. It’s rumoured that Vos was riding at 60km/hr when she pulled Stevens and Arndt away from the main peloton.
In spite of the hard chasing determined bunch, Marianne Vos (Rabo) Judith Arndt (Orica) and Evelyn Stevens (Specialized) worked well together to stay away until the finish. Vos took her 5th stage for 2012 from Arndt and Stevens who were 40 seconds ahead of the main peloton.
Nicole Cooke of Faren Honda whole-heartedly worked to close in on the final break of the day in order to strengthen Luperini’s position on the general classification leading into the final 106km stage finishing in Bergamo tomorrow.
Faren Honda have high hopes of assisting Fabiana Luperini in the final stage with their bold ambition to gain 33 seconds over Emma Pooley, which would see Luperini move up to 3rd position on the overall classification for the 2012 Giro d’Italia.

Above: Team Faren Honda with the boss of their title sponsor – Fausto from Faren.

Above: Nicole Cooke taking a moment to recover.

Above: Fabiana Luperini takes a drink leading into the final hour of stage 8.

Above: Fabiana Luperini collecting another jersey & gifts on the podium after the penultimate stage.

Full Stage 8 Results
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team 2:45:43
2 Judith Arndt (Ger) Orica-AIS
3 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Team Specialized – lululemon
4 Shelley Olds (USA) AA Drink – Cycling Team 0:00:40
5 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team Specialized – lululemon
6 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Diadora – Pasta Zara
7 Alona Andruk (Ukr) Vaiano Tepso
8 Emma Johansson (Swe) Hitec Products – Mistral Home Cycling Team
9 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Be Pink
10 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team

General classification after stage 8
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team 19:20:41
2 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Team Specialized – lululemon 0:01:54
3 Emma Pooley (GBr) AA Drink – Cycling Team 0:02:30
4 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Faren Honda Team

website design by essendon web